Casey Stoner breaks Estoril duck with dominating win

Written By: -

casey stoner

Casey Stoner has finally broke his Estoril duck by winning today’s MotoGP race, dominating from almost the start to finish, despite being pressured from Jorge Lorenzo for almost two thirds of the race, but the Yamaha rider lacked one or two tenths of second in the first sector to actually catch and pass the Repsol Honda rider.

The race in itself was processional, very reminiscent of the 800cc era with almost no passes except at the start when riders were jockeying for positions and a few crashes from some of the CRT riders in the back field.

This is the Australian’s second straight victory, while Jorge Lorenzo was second. Dani Pedrosa took the third spot on the podium, but he never had the pace of the two front runners.

The Yamaha Tech3 duo once again battled it out between themselves, but this time Andrea Dovizioso got the better of Cal Crutchlow. Alvaro Bautista took a very lonely sixth, while Valentino Rossi was today’s best Ducati rider with his 7th place despite having the pace of the three satellite riders who finished ahead of him.

Ben Spies had another tough and almost anonymous race finishing in 8th and having to battle with MotoGP rookie Stefan Bradl for the spot. Hector Barbera closed out the top ten finishing ahead of Nicky Hayden who was the last prototype riders and more than a minute adrift from Stoner and after a suffering Karel Abraham crashed out with five laps left in the race.

The best of the CRT riders was Aleix Espargaro in 12th who got the better of his battered and bruised team mate Randy de Puniet by over 3 seconds,while Michele Pirro was 14th. Bringing up the rear was Danilo Petrucci in 15th who was lapped the front runners.

Ivan Silva who had a horrific looking highside in this morning’s warm-up pitted, while Mattia Pasini lost the front of his Aprilia at the ‘Esses,’ and Yonny Hernandez had a high speed crash at the Parabolica Anterior.

MotoGP Estoril Race Results:

01- Casey Stoner – Repsol Honda Team – Honda RC213V – 28 laps in 45’37.513
02- Jorge Lorenzo – Yamaha Factory Racing – Yamaha YZR M1 – + 1.421
03- Dani Pedrosa – Repsol Honda Team – Honda RC213V – + 3.621
04- Andrea Dovizioso – Monster Yamaha Tech 3 – Yamaha YZR M1 – + 13.846
05- Cal Crutchlow – Monster Yamaha Tech 3 – Yamaha YZR M1 – + 16.690
06- Alvaro Bautista – San Carlo Honda Gresini – Honda RC213V – + 21.884
07- Valentino Rossi – Ducati Team – Ducati Desmosedici GP12 – + 26.797
08- Ben Spies – Yamaha Factory Racing – Yamaha YZR M1 – + 33.262
09- Stefan Bradl – LCR Honda MotoGP – Honda RC213V – + 35.867
10- Hector Barbera – Pramac Racing Team – Ducati Desmosedici GP12 – + 53.363
11- Nicky Hayden – Ducati Team – Ducati Desmosedici GP12 – + 1’02.630
12- Aleix Espargaro – Power Electronics Aspar – ART GP12 – 1’20.736
13- Randy De Puniet – Power Electronics Aspar – ART GP12 – 1’23.483
14- Michele Pirro – San Carlo Honda Gresini – FTR Honda – + 1’37.905
15- Danilo Petrucci – CAME Iodaracing Project – Ioda TR003 – 1 lap

Vote this Article:
No votes yet, be the first one!