Alex de Angelis wins wet and wild Sepang Moto2 race as Marc Marquez crashes

Written By: -

The start of the Moto2 race at Sepang was delayed after the circuit was hit by a torrential rain shower that flooded the track with zero visibility during the Moto3 podium, that saw Sandro Cortese crowned the World Champion.

The rain abated and some sun started to shine as the riders took to track with rain tires and wet gear as the asphalt began to slowly dry out as once again the weather conditions gave fans a thrilling and totally unexpected podium with Malaysian wildcard Hafizh Syahrin inflaming the numerous fans, as Marc Marquez crashed out unable to re-start, while closest rival Pol Espargaro was unable to capitalize on Marquez’s DNF as he finished only 11th.

Alex de Angelis was assigned his first victory of the 2012 season in the wild and crazy race that was halted on the 17th lap with another massive downpour hitting the circuit just as Gino Rea had grabbed the lead from de Angelis before the race was finally stopped. With the countback, de Angelis took the win with Anthony West claiming second ahead of Gino Rea, as both took their first ever Moto2 podiums.

Pole sitter Pol Espargaro got the holeshot but at the end of the straight Bradley Smith grabbed the lead with Nakagami following but after a few corners the Japanese rider crashed out letting Alex De Angelis and Julian Simon move into second and third while both Johann Zarco and Xavier Simeon crashed out in the treacherous conditions.

At the end of the first lap both Simon and De Angelis overtook Smith followed by Luthi, Redding, Rea, while title rivals Espargaro and Marquez were in 7th and 8th respectively as the wet weather specialists began to take over the race while Espargaro began to fade to 12th as wild card Syahrin began to scythe through the field (he was 27th of the grid).

On the third lap de Angelis grabbed the lead from Simon while Gino Rea overtook West with Iannone, Marquez and Hafizh Syahrin behind them, and heading into the 7th lap Rea overtook de Angelis, while Syahrin sent the Malaysian fans into a frenzy as he went wild with a series of passes and moved to head of the race as the battle began between Rea, de Angelis and West, as a cautious Marquez was already thinking of the title with Espagaro unable to get past his 11th place, but with six laps to go disaster struck as the Catalunya Caixa rider lowsided out unable to re-start leaving him having to wait until the next round at Phillip Island to try to take the crown again.

In the meantime DeAngelis took the lead with West, Rea and a fading Syaharin in fourth as Mike di Meglio, Nico Terol and Thomas Luthi all crashed out as the rain began to fall even more copiously. With just four laps left in the race the Gresini rider overtook the Sammarinese but the red flagged was waved halting the proceedings and the positions taken at the 15th lap would give De Angelis the victory.

Julian Simone finished in 5th while Andrea Iannone who crashed out just seconds before the red flag was given sixth place ahead of Mika Kallio, Bradley Smith and Dominique Aegereter while Esteve Rabat closed out the top ten.

Moto2 Sepang Race Results:

01- Alex De Angelis – NGM Mobile Forward Racing – FTR Moto M212 – 15 laps in 36’57.793
02- Anthony West – QMMF Racing Team – Speed Up S12 – + 0.710
03- Gino Rea – Federal Oil Gresini Moto2 – Suter MMXII – + 1.363
04- Hafizh Syahrin – Petronas Raceline Malaysia – FTR Moto M211 – + 2.941
05- Julian Simon – Blusens Avintia – Suter MMXII – + 7.583
06- Andrea Iannone – Speed Master Team – Speed Up S12 – + 10.062
07- Mika Kallio – Marc VDS Racing Team – KALEX Moto2 – + 23.078
08- Bradley Smith – Tech 3 Racing – Tech 3 Mistral 610 – + 26.957
09- Dominique Aegerter – Technomag CIP – Suter MMXII – + 30.063
10- Tito Rabat – Tuenti Movil HP 40 – KALEX Moto2 – + 31.514
11- Pol Espargaro – Tuenti Movil HP 40 – KALEX Moto2 – + 31.746
12- Scott Redding – Marc VDS Racing Team – KALEX Moto2 – + 37.108
13- Toni Elias – Italtrans Racing Team – KALEX Moto2 – + 38.627
14- Axel Pons – Tuenti Movil HP 40 – KALEX Moto2 – + 39.095
15- Ricky Cardus – Arguinano Racing Team – AJR Moto2 – + 40.686
16- Yuki Takahashi – NGM Mobile Forward Racing – FTR Moto M212 – + 40.757
17- Tomoyoshi Koyama – Technomag CIP – Suter MMXII – + 41.859
18- Marcel Schrotter – Desguaces La Torre SAG – Bimota HB4 2012 – + 46.760
19- Jesko Raffin – GP Team Switzerland – KALEX Moto2 – + 1’10.712
20- Elena Rosell – QMMF Racing Team – Speed Up S12 – + 1’17.807
21- Marco Colandrea – SAG Team – FTR Moto M211 – + 1’19.320
22- Ratthapark Wilairot – Thai Honda PTT Gresini Moto2 – Suter MMXII – + 1’27.281
23- Alessandro Andreozzi – Speed Master Team – Speed Up S12 – + 1’28.788
24- Simone Corsi – CAME Iodaracing Project – FTR Moto M212 – + 1’41.865

Vote this Article:
No votes yet, be the first one!